28th 2008f September 2008

Posted in: Uncategorized
home theatre
Kyle asked:


i recently bought a divince home theatre system from my friend who bought it from some one else.. it says its suppose to be 1800 watt but i opened up the speaker boxes and all the speaker add up to only 400 watts or something like that.. does and body know it this system can even power 1800 watts cuz i think i got ripped off..

Emory
Share and Enjoy:
  • Digg
  • Sphinn
  • del.icio.us
  • Facebook
  • Mixx
  • Google

3 Comments

  1. It’s probably the difference between RMS watts and MAX watts. RMS is continuous while MAX is transient. I don’t know how much you spent, but if you like the sound, you should be fine.

    H a p p y
    H o m e
    T h e a t e r i n g !

    Comment by XenonAudio — October 2, 2008 @ 7:25 am

  2. it sounds like decent quaility system,. but when they add up the totalwatts that each speaker says they can handle, thats what they do is add up total wattage, so when you have all the speakers hooked up (and sub) the amplifiers will deliver that amount of watts to all the speakers
    or they are sending different wattages to different speakers, hard to tell

    good luck

    Comment by tim s — October 2, 2008 @ 7:58 am

  3. I’m sorry to do this to you. You did get ripped off. This speaker system is a system that is used in “white van” scams. This is a scam where you, or in your case possibly your freind, run into some guys in a parking lot somewhere. They tell you a story that follows something like… They are installers for a high end home theater company and they recieved one to many systems on an order and are trying to sell it fast and cheap. These sytems are usually garbage, and many times defective all together. This has been documented well in Canada. I only know about this because one of my friends ran into some of these guys and called me to ask about the system before he bought them. Luckily I was at a computer at the time and was able to discover information about the scam before he made his decision. Again I’m sorry to give you the bad news… Who knows maybe they’ll work out ok for you. In my sources there is a link to a Canadian consumer protection web site that describes this scam. There are several different name brands that the speakers show up under, but Divinci is one of the more prominent. Sorry, and good luck talking to your friend about it!

    Comment by TT — October 5, 2008 @ 4:41 am

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.